Delegation of tasks
Delegating your tasks means that for a certain period of time, you will grant a colleague to validate, cancel and save all your assigned tasks. This can be particularly useful if you are unavailable for some time (holidays, sick leave, maternity leave ...).
What is a delegation ?
A delegation from a user A to a user B is a right given to user B to validate, cancel or save manual tasks that are assigned to the user A during a specific time period. When you design a process by default, manual tasks are configured as delegable which means that if the manual task is assigned to a user that has an active delegation, this manual task will be accessible to the delegated user. It is also possible to configure a manual task to be undelegable which means that even if the assigned user has an active delegation, the manual task will remain assigned to him/her and inaccessible by the delegated user.
A task will be delegated if and only if it was originally assigned to a user (not to a lane).
A delegate cannot launch requests on the behalf of the representative.
Remember that only users can be delegated. So Runtime lanes, as is the case with regular lanes, can not be delegated even if the Runtime lane contains only one user.
How does it work ?
A user creates a delegation for its manual tasks to another user (the delegated user) for a certain period of time. When a user creates a delegation, he can specify whether to start it now (in 5 minutes) or at an ulterior date. He/She can also specify its end date. A pending delegation gets activated automatically when the start date is reached. However, if it's activated manually, it will be effective instantly even if its start date is in the future.
When a delegation is still pending (created but not activated), it can be deleted and it will not appear in the delegation history of a user. If a delegation gets activated, it cannot be deleted : it can only be stopped. It will appear it the delegation history of a user. This disctinction means that a user can have the full history of whether or not his tasks have been made available to someone else at a certain time.
An active delegation gets inactivated automatically when reaching its end date or manually by the user himself. When the delegation gets inactivated, the delegate won't be able to access the representative tasks anymore.
A user can only have one configured delegation per project. One delegation can also be set without any project, in this case, it will apply to all projects that don't have a delegation configured.
Delegation is retroactive : tasks created before the activation of a delegation and assigned to the representative become accessible to the delegate when the delegation gets activated. A designer can specify that tasks cannot be delegated by configuring as such the manual task step in the process design.
Validation of a task by a delegate
When a delegate validates a manual task instead of the representative, the delegate does not have to be part of the correct lanes (project and process) to be able to update a request : the delegation itself will provide sufficient rights to validate a task.
The delegate will become the
P_user of the request and the request will run in its name.
If the web interface contains an history widget, the delegate name will appear as the person who has validated the task.
If a task gets created when a delegation is active and if this task sends a notification email, then the delegate will also be notified.
A user can access a list of the tasks that are delegated to him/her by using a specific appinstance report.
To do so, the report should use the filter
Delegated to associated with the value Connected User.
A delegate only needs to be a
USER on the project containing the report in order to see the list of tasks that are delegated to him, but only via a report with the
Delegated to filter.
Delegated to can also be used to filter on a different user than the connected user.
A report can also display to whom an appinstance is delegated by displaying the column