Reuse of Resources
For fast and flexible application development, DigitalSuite provides features for reusing resources across projects.
A resource is always created for a specific project. It can be detached from its project later and moved to another project. It is also possible to duplicate resources within a project or independent of any project.
Detaching Project Resources
A resource can be detached from the project for which it was created. This is possible for all types of resource, except for collections. In order to reuse collection data, collections can be exported and imported from/to projects.
Connectors are automatically detached from a project with their provider. A connector cannot be detached separately.
A detached resource can be accessed by any user of the customer account. If this is not desired, the resource should not be detached, but moved directly from one project to another.
Moving Project Resources
A resource can be moved directly from one project to another, which means detaching it from the original project and attaching it to the new one. In addition, a detached resource can be moved and attached to a specific project.
Moving is possible for any type of resource, except for collections. In order to reuse collection data, collections can be exported and imported from/to projects. Connectors can either be moved with their provider or attached to a different provider that already exists in the new project.
Duplicating Project Resources
For creating a copy, a resource can be duplicated. A suffix denoting the copy is appended to the name of the duplicate.
If the duplicated resource belongs to a project, the copy is attached to the same project and can be edited immediately. The duplicate of a detached resource is not assigned to any project. It has to be moved to a project before it can be edited.
Duplication is possible for any type of resource, except for collections, custom lists, and providers. A duplicated connector belongs to the same provider as the original one.